Video encyclopedia

Clinical commissioning group


NHS - Clinical Commissioning Groups


Introducing NHS Dorset Clinical Commissioning Group


An introduction to NHS Tower Hamlets Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)


Wakefield CCG - An explanation of Primary Care Home for frontline workers


Local clinicians controlling NHS budgets - NHS Kingston CCG

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) are NHS organisations set up by the Health and Social Care Act 2012 to organise the delivery of NHS services in England. 211 groups were established in 2013 and there was resistance to any proposals for mergers between groups although Gateshead CCG, Newcastle North & East CCG and Newcastle West CCG merged on 1 April 2015. During 2016 it appeared that further mergers would be permitted and an official procedure was published in November 2016 by NHS England. During 2017 further proposals for merger appeared. 83 CCGs were sharing chief officers in March 2017, which may be a precursor to merger. If all those led to merger there would be 174 groups.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!