Video encyclopedia

European Coal and Steel Community


European Coal and Steel Community


United Europe - A history


The History of the EU with David Mitchell


History of the European Union and the European Coal and Steel Community - Every year


EU history in emojis

The European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was an organisation of 6 European countries set up after World War II to regulate their industrial production under a centralised authority. It was formally established in 1951 by the Treaty of Paris, signed by Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Luxembourg. The ECSC was the first international organisation to be based on the principles of supranationalism, and started the process of formal integration which ultimately led to the European Union.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • History 

  • Institutions 

  • Achievements and failures