Video encyclopedia

European Free Trade Association

International organizations

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is a regional trade organization and free trade area consisting of four European states: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. The organization operates in parallel with the European Union (EU), and all four member states participate in the European Single Market and are part of the Schengen Area. They are not, however, party to the European Union Customs Union.


  • History 

  • Membership 

  • Organisation 

  • Relationship with the European Union 

  • International trade relations 

  • Travel policies