Video encyclopedia

European Union


European Union: What is the EU?


What is the European Union? | BBC Newsbeat


European Union approves Ukraine as an EU candidate country


European Union Leaders Agree To Cut 90% Of Russian Oil Imports


Chaos erupts at the European Parliament as three key climate laws are postponed

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The union has a total area of 4,233,255.3 km2 (1,634,469.0 sq mi) and an estimated total population of about 447 million. An internal single market has been established through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states in those matters, and only those matters, where the states have agreed to act as one. EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services and capital within the internal market; enact legislation in justice and home affairs; and maintain common policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries and regional development. Passport controls have been abolished for travel within the Schengen Area, roaming charges also. A monetary union was established in 1999, coming into full force in 2002, and is composed of 19 member states which use the euro currency. The EU has often been described as a sui generis political entity with the characteristics of either a federation or confederation.
  • Fun facts 

  • Other members of G7  

  • Background 

  • Preliminary (1945{{ndash}}1957) 

  • Treaty of Rome (1957{{ndash}}1992) 

  • Maastricht Treaty (1992{{ndash}}2007) 

  • Lisbon Treaty (2007{{ndash}}present) 

  • Population 

  • Urbanisation 

  • Languages 

  • Religion 

  • Member states 

  • Geography 

  • Politics 

  • European Council 

  • European Commission 

  • Council of the European Union 

  • European Parliament 

  • Budget 

  • Legal system and justice 

  • Court of Justice of the European Union 

  • Fundamental rights 

  • Acts 

  • European Ombudsman 

  • Home affairs and migration 

  • Foreign relations 

  • Security and defence 

  • Humanitarian aid 

  • International cooperation and development partnerships 

  • Trade 

  • Economy 

  • Internal market 

  • Monetary union and financial services 

  • Industry and digital economy 

  • Energy 

  • Infrastructure 

  • Telecommunications and space 

  • Agriculture and fisheries 

  • Competition 

  • Social policy and equality 

  • Regional and local policy 

  • Environment and climate 

  • Education and research 

  • Health care and food safety 

  • Culture 

  • Sport 

  • Symbols 

  • Media 

  • Impact