Video encyclopedia

Federated States of Micronesia


Geography Now! MICRONESIA (Federated states)


Travel Guide - Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia


What is Micronesia?


Island Images: Cultures of the Federated States of Micronesia


Connecting the Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia is an independent sovereign island nation and a United States associated state consisting of four states – from west to east, Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae – that are spread across the Western Pacific Ocean. Together, the states comprise around 607 islands that cover a longitudinal distance of almost 2,700 km (1,678 mi) just north of the equator. They lie northeast of New Guinea, south of Guam and the Marianas, west of Nauru and the Marshall Islands, east of Palau and the Philippines, about 2,900 km (1,802 mi) north of eastern Australia and some 4,000 km (2,485 mi) southwest of the main islands of Hawaii.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!