Video encyclopedia

Fenian Cycle


Irish Mythology - The Fenian Cycle


Miscellaneous Myths: Fionn Mac Cumhaill


The Four Cycles of Irish Mythology


Old Irish Literature The 'Ulster Cycle' 1 Elizabeth Baldwin


Irish Myth Cycles

The Fenian Cycle or the Fiannaíocht, also referred to as the Ossianic Cycle after its narrator Oisín, is a body of prose and verse centring on the exploits of the mythical hero Fionn mac Cumhaill and his warriors the Fianna. These stories tell of tests accomplished by Finn and the Fianna. It is one of the four major cycles of Irish mythology along with the Mythological Cycle, the Ulster Cycle, and the Historical Cycle. Put in chronological order, the Fenian cycle is the third cycle, between the Ulster and Historical cycles. The cycle also contains stories about other famous Fianna members, including Diarmuid, Caílte, Oisín's son Oscar, and Fionn's enemy, Goll mac Morna.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!