Video encyclopedia

Golden Globe Award for New Star of the Year – Actor


Golden Globe Award for New Star of the Year – Actor


Ben Kingsley Wins New Male Star of the Year - Golden Globes 1983


Burt Reynolds wins Best Actor Golden Globes 1992


Sandahi Bergman Wins New Female Star Motion Picture - Golden Globes 1983


Michelle Williams Best Actress Motion Picture Comedy Or Musical
 - Golden Globes 2012

The Golden Globe for New Star of the Year – Actor was an award given by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association at their annual Golden Globe Awards. The award was first introduced at the 6th Golden Globe Awards in 1948 where it was given to actor Richard Widmark for his performance in the 1947 film Kiss of Death. It was awarded as the Golden Globe Award for Most Promising Newcomer – Male until 1975. There were no awards in 1949, and between 1954 and 1965 there were multiple winners. From 1976 to 1979, the award was called Best Acting Debut in a Motion Picture – Male. From 1980 to 1983, the award was called New Star of the Year in a Motion Picture – Male. A male actor did not receive the Award in 1982. The final recipient of the award was actor Ben Kingsley for his performance as the title character in the 1982 film Gandhi. The category was discontinued following the 1983 ceremony.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • History