Video encyclopedia

French Guiana


French Guiana still feels forgotten two years after Paris vows


French Guiana Geography/French Guiana Overseas Department


A bit of France in South America: Facts about French Guiana


French Overseas Regions and Territories Explained


The History of the Three Guyanas

French Guiana, officially called Guiana, is an overseas department and region of France, on the north Atlantic coast of South America in the Guyanas. It borders Brazil to the east and south and Suriname to the west. Since 1981, when Belize became independent, French Guiana has been the only territory of the mainland Americas that is still part of a European country.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Name 

  • History 

  • Geography 

  • Climate 

  • Environment 

  • Agriculture 

  • Economy 

  • Demographics 

  • Religion 

  • Fertility 

  • Languages 

  • Politics 

  • Transport 

  • Main settlements 

  • Military, police and security forces 

  • Culture and sport 

  • In popular culture 

  • Notable people