Video encyclopedia

Geneva Conventions


What are the 4 Geneva Conventions? | ICRC | IHL


TEDxAmsterdam: The Geneva Conventions in Pictures


Geneva Convention: Rules of Engagement Between 190 Countries


EXPLAINED: Prisoners of war and the Third Geneva Convention


How Blink 182 violated the Geneva Conventions

The Geneva Conventions comprise four treaties, and three additional protocols, that establish the standards of international law for humanitarian treatment in war. The singular term Geneva Convention usually denotes the agreements of 1949, negotiated in the aftermath of the Second World War (1939–45), which updated the terms of the two 1929 treaties, and added two new conventions. The Geneva Conventions extensively defined the basic rights of wartime prisoners, established protections for the wounded and sick, and established protections for the civilians in and around a war-zone. The treaties of 1949 were ratified, in whole or with reservations, by 196 countries. Moreover, the Geneva Convention also defines the rights and protections afforded to non-combatants, yet, because the Geneva Conventions are about people in war, the articles do not address warfare proper—the use of weapons of war—which is the subject of the Hague Conventions, and the bio-chemical warfare Geneva Protocol.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!