Video encyclopedia

His Dark Materials


Author Philip Pullman gives his thoughts on His Dark Materials | BBC Trailers


His Dark Materials: Season 1 | Official Trailer | HBO


His Dark Materials: Season 1 | San Diego Comic-Con Trailer | HBO


5 Reasons To Read His Dark Materials


His Dark Materials: Dust, Daemons, and Other Terms You Should Know

His Dark Materials is an epic trilogy of fantasy novels by Philip Pullman consisting of Northern Lights (1995), The Subtle Knife (1997), and The Amber Spyglass (2000). It follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes. The novels have won a number of awards, including the Carnegie Medal in 1995 for Northern Lights and the 2001 Whitbread Book of the Year for The Amber Spyglass. In 2003, the trilogy was ranked third on the BBC’s The Big Read poll.
  • Curiosity 

  • Settings 

  • Titles 

  • Plot 

  • Characters 

  • Dæmons 

  • Influences 

  • Reactions from Christians 

  • Terminology 

  • Related works 

  • Adaptations