logo

Video encyclopedia

Gluten-free diet

3:41

Gluten-free Shopping

1:11

The Effect of a Gluten-Free Diet on Liver Function Tests - Celiac Disease in the News

1:33

How To Be Gluten-Free On A Plant-Based Diet

3:52

Gluten-free Diet, Part II

1:31

Who Qualifies for a Gluten Free Diet

A gluten-free diet (GFD) is a diet that strictly excludes gluten, a mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, oat, and all their species and hybrids. The inclusion of oats in a gluten-free diet remains controversial, and may depend on the oat cultivar and the frequent cross-contamination with other gluten-containing cereals.