Video encyclopedia

Habsburg Monarchy


The House of Habsburg


Croatians asked about a possible return of their monarchy-Royal News


Why did Austrian Empire collapse?


The Habsburg Empire


Karl von Habsburg: Nationalism rise 'painful' BBC HARDtalk

"Habsburg Monarchy" or "Habsburg Empire" is an unofficial appellation among historians for the countries and provinces that were ruled by the junior Austrian branch of the House of Habsburg between 1521 and 1780 and then by the successor branch of Habsburg-Lorraine until 1918. The Monarchy was a composite state composed of territories within and outside the Holy Roman Empire, united only in the person of the monarch. The dynastic capital was Vienna, except from 1583 to 1611, when it was moved to Prague. From 1804 to 1867 the Habsburg Monarchy was formally unified as the Austrian Empire, and from 1867 to 1918 as the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Country facts 

  • Origins and expansion 

  • Names 

  • Territories 

  • Characteristics 

  • Other lines 

  • Rulers 1508–1918 

  • Habsburg-Lorraine 

  • Family tree 

  • In literature