Video encyclopedia

12/06/1939 The Baseball Hall of Fame opens in Cooperstown, New York

The National Baseball Hall of Fame is an American history museum and hall of fame located in Cooperstown, New York, and operated by private interests. It was established in 1939 by Stephen Carlton Clark who sought to bring tourists to a city hurt by the Great Depression. The first five men inducted into the Hall of Fame were Ty Cobb, Babe Ruth, Honus Wagner, Christy Mathewson and Walter Johnson. They were elected in 1936 by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.