Video encyclopedia

La Liga


The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División, commonly known as La Liga, is the men's top professional football division of the Spanish football league system. Administered by the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional, also known as the Liga de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), La Liga is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest-placed teams at the end of each season relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top three teams in that division.


  • Competition format 

  • History 

  • Teams 

  • La Liga clubs in Europe 

  • Performance comparison 

  • All-time La Liga table 

  • Players 

  • Sponsors