Video encyclopedia

Larsen Ice Shelf


Iceberg A-68 drifts away from Larsen-C Ice Shelf, Antarctica


Antarctica’s Larsen B Ice Shelf: The Final Act


Larsen C Ice Sheet Breaks Off. What Next?


The biggest iceberg breaks off Antarctica's Larsen C ice shelf


Breaking 1 Trillion Ton Antarctic iceberg finally breaks free Larsen Ice Shelf July 12 2017 News

The Larsen Ice Shelf is a long ice shelf in the northwest part of the Weddell Sea, extending along the east coast of the Antarctic Peninsula from Cape Longing to Smith Peninsula. In 2005, it covered approximately 78500 km2 of the earth's sea with exceptionally thick ice. It is named for Captain Carl Anton Larsen, the master of the Norwegian whaling vessel Jason, who sailed along the ice front as far as 68°10' South during December 1893. In finer detail, the Larsen Ice Shelf is a series of shelves that occupy distinct embayments along the coast. From north to south, the segments are called Larsen A, Larsen B, and Larsen C by researchers who work in the area. Further south, Larsen D and the much smaller Larsen E, F and G are also named.
  • Glacier facts 

  • Glacier location facts 

  • Also related