Video encyclopedia

Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod


Thank You LWML! from The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod


Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod Intro


There is no Gospel but the Lutheran Gospel


Lighting Cut: The Fellowship of the WELS


Rev. Matthew Harrison on "Lutheranism 101"

The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod (LCMS), often referred to simply as the Missouri Synod, is a traditional, confessional Lutheran denomination in the United States. With 2 million members, it is the second-largest Lutheran body in the U.S., the largest being Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The LCMS was organized in 1847 at a meeting in Chicago, Illinois, as the German Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio, and Other States, a name which reflected the geographic locations of the founding congregations.