Video encyclopedia

Nobel Prize in Literature


Nobel Prize Winners in Literature


Receiving the Nobel Prize for Literature


Nobel Lecture: Kazuo Ishiguro, Nobel Prize in Literature 2017


Announcement of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2016


Nobel Banquet speech by Kazuo Ishiguro, Nobel Prize in Literature 2017

The Nobel Prize in Literature is a Swedish literature prize that is awarded annually, since 1901, to an author from any country who has, in the words of the will of Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, produced "in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction". Though individual works are sometimes cited as being particularly noteworthy, the award is based on an author's body of work as a whole. The Swedish Academy decides who, if anyone, will receive the prize. The academy announces the name of the laureate in early October. It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895.