Video encyclopedia

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine


Announcement of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology


Autophagy - Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2016


Interview about the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine


2015 Nobel Prize in Medicine - Periodic Table of Videos


How is the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine decided?

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, administered by the Nobel Foundation, is awarded yearly for outstanding discoveries in the fields of life sciences and medicine. It is one of five Nobel Prizes established in his will in 1895 by Swedish chemist Alfred Nobel, the inventor of dynamite. Nobel was interested in experimental physiology and wanted to establish a prize for scientific progress through laboratory discoveries. The Nobel Prize is presented at an annual ceremony on 10 December, the anniversary of Nobel's death, along with a diploma and a certificate for the monetary award. The front side of the medal displays the same profile of Alfred Nobel depicted on the medals for Physics, Chemistry, and Literature. The reverse side is unique to this medal. The most recent Nobel prize was announced by Karolinska Institute on October 2, 2017 and has been awarded to three Americans – Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael Young – for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Laureates 

    • Background 

    • Nomination and selection 

    • Prizes