Video encyclopedia

Northwest Territory


The Northwest Ordinance


David McCullough on the Northwest Territory


To the Mississippi: Westward Expansion and the Northwest Ordinance 1787


Norman Wells, Northwest Territories | Small Town Pride | Xtra Magazine


Nahanni National Park Reserve - Northwest Territories, Canada

The Northwest Territory in the United States was formed after the American Revolutionary War (1775-1783), and was known formally as the Territory Northwest of the River Ohio. It encompassed most of the pre-war British colonial territory north of the Ohio River of the Ohio Country, parts of Illinois Country, and parts of old French Canada below the Great Lakes. It was an organized incorporated territory of the United States spanning most or large parts of six eventual U.S. States. It existed legally from July 13, 1787, until March 1, 1803, when the southeastern portion of the territory was admitted to the Union as the state of Ohio, and the remainder was reorganized by additional legislative actions.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • The territory 

  • History 

  • New France 

  • British control 

  • Cessions by the states 

  • Founding of the territory 

  • Northwest Indian War 

  • Settlement 

  • Statehood for Ohio 

  • Law and government 

  • Officials 

  • General Assembly 

  • Land ownership 

  • Native American lands 

  • Education 

  • Territorial settlements and forts 

  • Territorial counties