Video encyclopedia

Municipality of Japan


Highway through a Building Story ★ ONLY in JAPAN


Kamikatsu: The zero-waste town in Japan


Japan’s Town With No Waste


largest municipality of Nagasaki Prefecture -Japan Nagasaki tour


anthoor municipality japan jwaram

Japan has three levels of government: national, prefectural, and municipal. The nation is divided into 47 prefectures. Each prefecture consists of numerous municipalities, with 1,719 in total. There are four types of municipalities in Japan: cities, towns, villages and special wards. In Japanese, this system is known as shikuchōson (市区町村), where each kanji in the word represents one of the four types of municipalities. Some designated cities also have further administrative subdivisions, also known as wards. But, unlike the Special wards of Tokyo, these wards are not municipalities.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!