Video encyclopedia

Parliament of Canada


What is Parliament?


Parliament of Canada - Parliament Buildings


Parliament of Canada - The House of Commons


Parliament of Canada - The Library of Parliament


What are Canada’s three branches of government?

The Parliament of Canada is the federal legislature of Canada, seated at Parliament Hill in Ottawa, the national capital. The body consists of the Canadian monarch, represented by a viceroy, the Governor General; an upper house, the Senate; and a lower house, the House of Commons. Each element has its own officers and organization. By constitutional convention, the House of Commons is dominant, with the Senate and monarch rarely opposing its will. The Senate reviews legislation from a less partisan standpoint and the monarch or viceroy provides royal assent to make bills into law.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!