Video encyclopedia

Partition of India


Why was India Partitioned? (Short Animated Documentary)


India's Partition 70 years on: 'I killed a man'- BBC News


Partition... 70 years on: A primer - BBC Newsnight


India's Partition: The Forgotten Story - BBC Two


Partition of India & Pakistan 1947

The Partition of India was the division of British India in 1947 which accompanied the creation of two independent dominions, India and Pakistan. The Dominion of India is today the Republic of India, and the Dominion of Pakistan is today the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the People's Republic of Bangladesh. The partition involved the division of three provinces, Assam, Bengal and Punjab, based on district-wide Hindu or Muslim majorities. The boundary demarcating India and Pakistan came to be known as the Radcliffe Line. It also involved the division of the British Indian Army, the Royal Indian Navy, the Indian Civil Service, the railways, and the central treasury, between the two new dominions. The partition was set forth in the Indian Independence Act 1947 and resulted in the dissolution of the British Raj, as the British government there was called. The two self-governing countries of Pakistan and India legally came into existence at midnight on 14–15 August 1947.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!