Video encyclopedia

Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi


Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi was an eminent Assamese poet, lyricist and folklorist from Sibsagar district of Assam. She was the president of the Asam Sahitya Sabha in 1991 held at Dudhnoi in Goalpara district of Assam. Bordoloi wrote over 54 Assamese and English books and thousands of songs. Prominent among the books are `Kabita: Mon Faringar Rong', `Samipesu', `Antarang', `Asamar Luko Sangonskriti', `Siba', `Asamar Luko Kabita'. She was honored with many notable awards like Sahitya Akademi Award in 1983 for her poetry book Sudirgha Din Aru Ritu, President award in 1957 for children's literature and the Asam Sahitya Sabha award twice in 1977 and 1989 for her scholarly non-fiction books `Dinar Pisat Din' and `Debi', respectively. She was conferred the `Saraswati Sanman' title in 1987.


  • Personal