Video encyclopedia

Province of New Jersey


Founding of New Jersey


New Jersey Colony


Province Of New Jersey


New Jersey Colony Tourism Video


The Province of New Jersey

The Province of New Jersey was one of the Middle Colonies of Colonial America and became New Jersey, a state of United States in 1783. The province had originally been settled by Europeans as part of New Netherland, but came under English rule after the surrender of Fort Amsterdam in 1664, becoming a proprietary colony. The English then renamed the province after the Isle of Jersey in the English Channel. The Dutch Republic reasserted control for a brief period in 1673–1674. After that it consisted of two political divisions, East Jersey and West Jersey, until they were united as a royal colony in 1702. The original boundaries of the province were slightly larger than the current state, extending into a part of the present state of New York, until the border was finalized in 1773.
    • Background 

    • Proprietary Government 

    • East Jersey and West Jersey 

    • Dominion of New England 

    • Royal colony 

    • New York–New Jersey Line War 

    • First state constitution