Video encyclopedia

Province of North Carolina


The Colony of North Carolina


The North Carolina Colony


The North Carolina Colony


North Carolina Colony - Commercial


The North Carolina Colony

The Province of North Carolina was a British colony that existed in North America from 1712 to 1776, created as a proprietary colony. The power of the British government was vested in a governor of North Carolina, but the colony declared independence from Great Britain in 1776. The Province of North Carolina had four capitals: Bath (1712–1722), Edenton (1722–1743), Brunswick (1743–1770), and New Bern. The colony later became the states of North Carolina and Tennessee, and parts of the colony combined with other territory to form the states of Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi.
  • History 

  • Geography and administrative divisions 

  • Government 

  • Related events