Video encyclopedia

Rawlings Gold Glove Award


2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony


Francisco Lindor Custom Glove Unboxing - 2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards


2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards - EXCELLENCE DOESN'T HAPPEN IN A DAY


Rawlings Gold Glove Award


Jacob Hannemann Receives his 2017 Rawlings Gold Glove Award

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award, usually referred to as the Gold Glove, is the award given annually to the Major League Baseball players judged to have exhibited superior individual fielding performances at each fielding position in both the National League (NL) and the American League (AL), as voted by the managers and coaches in each league. It is also awarded to women fastpitch softball players in the National Pro Fastpitch as of 2016. Managers are not permitted to vote for their own players. Additionally, a sabermetric component provided by Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) accounts for approximately 25 percent of the vote. Eighteen Gold Gloves are awarded each year, one at each of the nine positions in each league. In 1957, the baseball glove manufacturer Rawlings created the Gold Glove Award to commemorate the best fielding performance at each position. The award was created from a glove made from gold lamé-tanned leather and affixed to a walnut base. Initially, only one Gold Glove per position was awarded to the top fielder at each position in Major League Baseball; however, separate awards were given for the National and American Leagues beginning in 1958.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!