Video encyclopedia

Rio Grande Valley


Battlegrounds of the Lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas


Restoring Habitat in Lower Rio Grande Valley NWR


South Texas - Birds of the Lower Rio Grande Valley!


Come Visit the Rio Grande Valley!


Birding the Lower Rio Grande Valley and South Texas

The Lower Rio Grande Valley, commonly known as the Rio Grande Valley or locally as the Valley, is a socio-cultural region spanning the border of Texas and Mexico located in a floodplain of the Rio Grande near its mouth. The region includes the southernmost tip of South Texas and a portion of northern Tamaulipas, Mexico. It consists of the Brownsville, Harlingen, Weslaco, Pharr, McAllen, Edinburg, Mission, San Juan, and Rio Grande City metropolitan areas in the United States and the Matamoros, Río Bravo, and Reynosa metropolitan areas in Mexico. These cities are surrounded by many small neighborhoods or colonias. The area is generally bilingual in English and Spanish, with a fair amount of Spanglish due to the diverse history of the region. A large seasonal influx occurs of "winter Texans" — Texans who come down from the north for the winter and then go back up north before summer arrives.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Valley facts 

  • Pre-Spanish colonization 

  • Spanish colonization 

  • Republic of Texas and annexation by the United States 

  • Early 1900s and the Mexican Revolution 

  • Post World War II to present 

  • Geography 

  • Major settlements 

  • Demographics 

  • Colonias 

  • Language use 

  • Religion 

  • Climate 

  • Tourism 

  • Places of historical interest 

  • Economy 

  • Transportation 

  • Politics 

  • Education 

  • Hospitals 

  • Newspapers 

  • Television 

  • Radio 

  • Notable people