Video encyclopedia

Silver Slugger Award


MLB Silver Slugger Award winners announced


COL@SF: Posey, Bumgarner receive Silver Slugger Award


OAK@TOR: Donaldson receives Silver Slugger award


Joe Mauer accepts Silver Slugger Award


Harper accepts MVP, Silver Slugger Awards

The Silver Slugger Award is awarded annually to the best offensive player at each position in both the American League and the National League, as determined by the coaches and managers of Major League Baseball. These voters consider several offensive categories in selecting the winners, including batting average, slugging percentage, and on-base percentage, in addition to "coaches' and managers' general impressions of a player's overall offensive value". Managers and coaches are not permitted to vote for players on their own team. The Silver Slugger was first awarded in 1980 and is given by Hillerich & Bradsby, the manufacturer of Louisville Slugger bats. The award is a bat-shaped trophy, 3 feet (91 cm) tall, engraved with the names of each of the winners from the league and plated with sterling silver.
  • General