Video encyclopedia

Southern Netherlands


Maastricht City - Pearl of the Southern Netherlands


Southern Netherlands


Southern Netherlands # DJI Mavic Mini


Occupation & Liberation of the southern Netherlands during WWII


Why are the Dutch so tall? BBC News

The Southern Netherlands, also called the Catholic Netherlands, was the part of the Low Countries largely controlled by Spain (1556–1714), later Austria (1714–1794), and occupied then annexed by France (1794–1815). The region also included a number of smaller states that were never ruled by Spain or Austria: the Prince-Bishopric of Liège, the Imperial Abbey of Stavelot-Malmedy, the County of Bouillon, the County of Horne and the Princely Abbey of Thorn. The Southern Netherlands were part of the Holy Roman Empire until the whole area was annexed by Revolutionary France.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!