Video encyclopedia

Requiem (Mozart)

The Requiem in D minor, K. 626, is a requiem mass by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Mozart composed part of the Requiem in Vienna in late 1791, but it was unfinished at his death on 5 December the same year. A completed version dated 1792 by Franz Xaver Süssmayr was delivered to Count Franz von Walsegg, who commissioned the piece for a Requiem service to commemorate the anniversary of his wife's death on 14 February.


  • Instrumentation 

  • Structure 

  • Music 

  • History 

  • Influences 

  • Modern completions 

  • Autograph at the 1958 World's Fair 

  • Selected recordings 

  • Arrangements