Video encyclopedia

Resignation from the British House of Commons


British House of Commons Speaker John Bercow announces resignation


British lord resigns from parliament for being late to debate


UK House of Commons speaker resigns


UK House of Commons leader Andrea Leadsom resigns


British lord resigns after tabloid exposure

Members of Parliament (MPs) sitting in the House of Commons in the United Kingdom are technically not permitted to resign their seats. To circumvent this prohibition, MPs who wish to give up their seat can ask to be appointed to an "office of profit under the Crown", disqualifying them from sitting as an MP. While offices of profit are no longer disqualifying in general, various specified offices that no longer have any duties associated with them still cause disqualification from and vacation of the seat. Two offices are specified as disqualifying for this purpose: the Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Chiltern Hundreds and of the Manor of Northstead.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!