Video encyclopedia

Thirteen Colonies


The Founding of the 13 Colonies | History


The History of Colonial America


Thirteen Colonies vs Confederate states vs United States-Country Timeline Comparison


13 Colonies Song


How to Memorize the Names of the 13 Colonies

The Thirteen Colonies were a group of British colonies on the Atlantic coast of North America founded in the 17th and 18th centuries. They declared independence in 1776 and formed the United States of America. The Thirteen Colonies had very similar political, constitutional, and legal systems and were dominated by Protestant English-speakers. They were part of Britain's possessions in the New World, which also included colonies in Canada, the Caribbean, and the Floridas.
  • British colonies 

  • New England colonies 

  • Middle colonies 

  • Southern colonies 

  • New England 

  • 18th century 

  • Global trade and immigration 

  • French and Indian War 

  • Growing dissent 

  • American Revolution 

  • Thirteen British colonies population 

  • Slaves 

  • Religion 

  • Education 

  • Government 

  • British role 

  • Self-government 

  • Economic policy 

  • Other British colonies 

  • Historiography 

  • Primary sources