Video encyclopedia

Seat of local government

In local government, a city hall, town hall, civic centre, a guildhall, a Rathaus (German), or a municipal building, is the chief administrative building of a city, town, or other municipality. It usually houses the city or town council, its associated departments, and their employees. It also usually functions as the base of the mayor of a city, town, borough, or county/shire.