Video encyclopedia

The Nexus


Raw: The Nexus' ambush on John Cena backfires


Amaranthe - The Nexus [Lyrics] HD


Team WWE reveals their final team member before battling The Nexus at SummerSlam 2010 on WWE Network


The Nexus attacks The Great Khali


Raw: Husky Harris accepts his "new" Nexus initiation

The Nexus was a villainous stable in WWE that competed on the Raw brand from June 7, 2010 to August 22, 2011. It originally consisted of eight rookies of NXT season one and shifted their roster several times throughout their 14-month existence, with David Otunga being the only member to serve the group throughout the entirety of its existence. Their initial goal was to obtain WWE contracts for all members, with the exception of original leader Wade Barrett, already guaranteed a WWE contract for having won NXT. After NXT, the group went on to antagonize the Raw roster, with then-WWE Champion John Cena as their main focus. Cena forcibly became a member of The Nexus after losing in a match at Hell in a Cell thanks to interference from Husky Harris and Michael McGillicutty, who would join The Nexus on October 25, 2010 edition of Raw as a reward. However, Cena was eventually removed from the group by being fired at Survivor Series after Barrett lost his WWE Championship match to Randy Orton in November 2010, only to be rehired by Barrett the following month. On January 3, 2011, Barrett was exiled from the group anyway after losing a triple threat steel cage match against Orton and King Sheamus to determine the number one contender for the WWE Championship as well as Barrett's leadership, which Barrett lost in favor of CM Punk after losing to Cena a chairs match at TLC: Tables Ladders & Chairs in December 2010. Punk, who ended up costing Barrett the match, officially became the group's new leader in January 2011, at which point the group was renamed The New Nexus in an attempt to distance itself from The Nexus, becoming a tight-knit group dedicated to one another by faith. Throughout its existence, the group won the WWE Tag Team Championship three times while Punk won the WWE Championship in his final match with the stable at Money in the Bank on July 17.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!