Video encyclopedia

Treaty of Asunción


EU Mercosur Trade Deal with 800m people and $100 BILLION in trade


Bolivian, Paraguayan presidents sign agreement to end border dispute


Trade Treaties and the Midterm Elections


Cartes declared Paraguay's new president


Argentine president Kirchner and his wife begin two-day visit

The Treaty of Asunción was a treaty between the countries of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay signed on March 26, 1991. The objective of the treaty, signed in Asunción, was to establish a common market among the participating countries, popularly called Mercosur. Later, the Treaty of Ouro Preto was signed to supplement the first treaty, establishing that the Treaty of Asunción was to be a legally and internationally recognized organization.
    • History