Video encyclopedia

Westminster St Margaret and St John


LONDON: Stunning St. Margaret's Church ⛪ at Westminster Abbey, let's go inside!


Lady Margaret Egerton marries John Colville at St. Margaret's (1948)


Tributes To President (1963)


Big Catholic Celebrations (1950)


Princess Margaret: St John's Ambulance (1948)

St Margaret was an ancient parish in the City and Liberty of Westminster and the county of Middlesex. It included the core of modern Westminster, including the Palace of Westminster and the area around, but not including Westminster Abbey. It was divided into St Margaret's and St John's in 1727, to coincide with the building of the Church of St John the Evangelist, constructed by the Commission for Building Fifty New Churches in Smith Square to meet the demands of the growing population, but there continued to be a single vestry for the parishes of St Margaret and St John. This was reformed in 1855 by the Metropolis Management Act, and the two parishes formed the Westminster District until 1887. St Margaret and St John became part of the County of London in 1889. The vestry was abolished in 1900, to be replaced by Westminster City Council, but St Margaret and St John continued to have a nominal existence until 1922.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Governance 

  • Libraries 

  • Geography 

  • Poor law