Video encyclopedia



Exploring and protecting the Antarctic | The Economist


East Antarctic Marine Protected Areas


Inside Antarctica's 'Area 51': The protected area you need special permission to enter | Newshub


Huge part of sea near Antarctica now protected


Why No One's Allowed To Explore The Antarctic

The Antarctic is a polar region around the Earth's South Pole, opposite the Arctic region around the North Pole. The Antarctic comprises the continent of Antarctica and the island territories located on the Antarctic Plate. The Antarctic region include the ice shelves, waters, and island territories in the Southern Ocean situated south of the Antarctic Convergence, a zone approximately 32 to 48 km wide varying in latitude seasonally. The region covers some 20 percent of the Southern Hemisphere, of which 5.5 percent is the surface area of the Antarctic continent itself. All of the land and ice shelves south of 60°S latitude are administered under the Antarctic Treaty System. Biogeographically, the Antarctic ecozone is one of eight ecozones of the Earth's land surface.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Geography 

  • Wildlife 

  • People 

  • Conservation 

  • Time zones