Video encyclopedia

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga


Ashtanga Vinyasa vs Vinyasa Flow


What is Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga?


What is Vinyasa Yoga? Every Yogi should know this


Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga


What is Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga? with Kino MacGregor

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of yoga codified and popularized by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century which is often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. Ashtanga means eight limbs or branches of yoga mentioned in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, of which asana or physical yoga posture is merely one branch, breath or pranayama is another. Both Pattabhi Jois and Sharath Jois, his grandson, encourage practice of Ashtanga Yoga - all eight limbs. The first two limbs - Yamas and Niyamas - are given special emphasis to be practiced in conjunction with the 3rd and 4th limbs.
  • Approach 

  • Principles 

  • History 

  • ''Power Yoga'' spinoffs 

  • Risk of injury