Video encyclopedia

National team appearances in the World Baseball Classic


2013 World Baseball Classic rings the NYSE Opening Bell


WBC Baseball Highlights: Wladimir Balentien


Joe Jimenez, Team Puerto Rico/Detroit Tigers RHP (2017 World Baseball Classic)


Jose Berrios, Team Puerto Rico/Minnesota Twins RHP (2017 World Baseball Classic)


Mets, Phillies play in 2018 Little League Classic

Twenty national teams have made at least one appearance in the World Baseball Classic. The 2006 and 2009 tournaments each had the same 16–team field, chosen by invitation. Beginning with the 2013 tournament, the four last-place teams from the previous tournament's first round each contested a qualifying round against three additional teams. The outcome of this process has been that 14 of the original 16 teams have continued to appear in every tournament. In 2013, Canada and Chinese Taipei re-qualified while Panama and South Africa were respectively replaced by Brazil and Spain. In 2017, Australia and Mexico re-qualified while Brazil and Spain were respectively replaced by Israel and Colombia.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
    • Overall team records