Video encyclopedia

2011–12 Women's National League


Women's National League Final 6 teams 2011


Peamount's WNL 2012 Launch Video


Portsmouth FC Ladies Champions 2011/2012


Throwback Thursday: USA vs. Mexico, 2011 Gold Cup Final | FOX SOCCER


Penn Relays 2011 College Women's 4x100 Race

The 2011–12 Women's National League season was the inaugural season of the Women's National League. The season was sponsored by Bus Éireann. Originally seven clubs were invited to join the league. However shortly before the start of the season Bray Wanderers/St. Joseph's pulled out due to a lack of competitive players. This left six teams – Peamount United, Castlebar Celtic, Cork Women's F.C., Raheny United, Shamrock Rovers and Wexford Youths – to play the inaugural season. The season began on 13 November 2011 with Wexford Youths and Castlebar Celtic drawing 2–2, Raheny United defeating Shamrock Rovers 5–0 and Stephanie Roche scoring a hat-trick as Peamount United defeated Cork Women's F.C. 6–1. On 12 February 2012 Roche scored six goals as Peamount United defeated Castlebar Celtic 13–0 at home. The return fixture on 15 April saw Peamount United win 9–0 with Roche scoring another hat-trick. The final round of games was played on 22 April 2012. Peamount United were the inaugural champions, finishing three points clear of second placed Raheny United. They also completed a league double by winning the WNL Cup, defeating Shamrock Rovers 1–0 in the final on 6 May 2012. Roche was the league's top goalscorer with 24 goals in the league itself plus two in the WNL Cup. She scored the winner in the WNL Cup final. Roche formed a "devastating" strike partnership with Sara Lawlor who contributed 15 goals to Peamount United's league success. Lawlor was named Player of the Season at the inaugural end of season awards ceremony.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!