Video encyclopedia

North Island Fault System


See a Gigantic Sinkhole on New Zealand’s North Island | National Geographic


New Zealand: Where Two Tectonic Plates Collide


NTG: Quick Facts: Philippine fault zone


Earthquake Destruction | National Geographic


Tsunami Risk Increases for Vancouver Island

The North Island Fault System or North Island Dextral Fault Belt is a set of southwest-northeast trending seismically-active faults in the North Island of New Zealand that carry most of the dextral strike-slip component of the oblique convergence of the Pacific Plate with the Australian Plate. They include the Wairarapa Fault and Wellington Fault to the southwest, the Ruahine and Mohaka Faults in the central section and the Waimana, Waiotahi, Whakatane and Waiohau Faults to the northeast. Most of the fault system consists of dextral strike-slip faults, although towards its northeastern end the trend swings to more S-N trend and the faults become mainly oblique normal in sense as the zone intersects with the Taupo rift zone. This fault zone accommodates up to 10 mm/yr of strike-slip displacement.