Video encyclopedia

Northeast Corridor Commission

Congress established the Northeast Corridor Commission under Sec. 212 of Public Law 110-432 to promote mutual cooperation and planning among owners and operators on the Northeast Corridor (NEC) rail line and to advise the U.S. Congress on Corridor policy and investment needs. The Commission consists of one member from each of the NEC states and the District of Columbia; four members from Amtrak; and five members from the U.S. Department of Transportation. The Commission also includes non-voting representatives from four freight railroads, states with feeder corridors, and commuter authorities not directly represented by a Commission member.