Video encyclopedia

Northern Karwendel Chain


5 Top-Rated Tourist Attractions in Innsbruck | Austria Travel Guide


Innsbruck Austria - 20120810


Innsbruck, Tyrol, Austria - virtual tour


Timelapse Leogang

The Northern Karwendel Chain is the northernmost of the four great, largely parallel mountain chains in the Karwendel in the Alps. It is made from very pure Wetterstein limestone, which has its heart in the Karwendel and runs for a total length of c. 18 kilometres from Scharnitz in the northeast via Mittenwald to the Wörner, where it turns sharply east, until it finally ends west of the Johannestal valley. It has 25 main summits with an average height of 2,400 m. The highest peak is the Eastern Karwendelspitze. The boundary between Germany and Austria runs along the crest from the Brunnensteinspitze in the west to the Eastern Karwendelspitze in the east. The northwestern side is Bavarian, the southeastern flank is Tyrolean. The Northern Karwendel Chain should not be confused with the southernmost chain of the Karwendel, the Inn Valley Chain, which is known colloquially as the Nordkette or "North Chain" due to its location north of the city of Innsbruck.
Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!
  • Mountain facts 

  • Mountains location 

  • Also related