Video encyclopedia

Northern Military Command (Brazil)

The Northern Military Command is one of eight Military Commands of the Brazilian Army. The Northern Military Command or "Comando Militar do Norte" (CMN) is responsible for the defence of Brazil's Northern border. The CMN is the youngest of Brazil's military commands as it was activated on 13 March 2013. Two Infantry Brigades specializing in Jungle warfare, and one Military Regional Command are subordinated to the CMN. Its area of responsibility covers the states of Maranhão, Pará and Amapá, and the northernmost area of the state of Tocantins.