Video encyclopedia

Nostalgic (song)


"Nostalgic" is a song by American recording artist Kelly Clarkson from her seventh studio album, Piece by Piece (2015). Produced by former DC Talk member Jason Halbert, the song was written by artists who also have been members of various rock bands: Semi Precious Weapons lead singer Justin Tranter, former Cobra Starship lead guitarist Ryland Blackinton, Young Love lead singer Dan Keyes, and Oliver duo member Vaughn Oliver. A synth electro rock song, it sings of remembering nostalgia of a failed relationship, which was mainly based on Tranter's and Keyes's real life experiences. The record mainly features synthesizer sounds that were prominently popular during the 1980s as well as string arrangements by Joseph Trapanese and guitars by Tim Pierce. Upon the release of Piece by Piece, "Nostalgic" has received a very positive response from music critics, who lauded the track as one of the album's highlights and complimented the 1980s nostalgia evoked from the song.