Video encyclopedia

United Nations Security Council election, 2011


India elected non-permanent member of UN Security Council, with 184 out of 192 valid votes cast


Security Council takes 'historic' decision to protect civilians in Libya


UN Security Council Commends First Round of Liberian Elections


DR Congo: Security Council discusses key challenges and risks in an election year


Security Council welcomes 'largely peaceful' vote in Southern Sudan referendum

The 2011 United Nations Security Council election was held on 21 and 24 October 2011 during the Sixty-sixth session of the United Nations General Assembly, held at United Nations Headquarters in New York City. The General Assembly elected Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan, and Togo, as the five new non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for two-year mandates commencing on 1 January 2012. Azerbaijan was elected after 17 rounds on 24 October, while the other four new members were chosen on 21 October.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!