Video encyclopedia



How to Find Auriga the Charioteer Constellation


The Constellations - Auriga


Drawing and Learning About the Constellation Auriga


Lore of the Constellations: Auriga


Auriga constellation through time

Auriga is one of the 88 modern constellations; it was among the 48 constellations listed by the 2nd-century astronomer Ptolemy. Located north of the celestial equator, its name is the Latin word for “the charioteer”, associating it with various mythological beings, including Erichthonius and Myrtilus. Auriga is most prominent during winter evenings in the northern Hemisphere, along with the five other constellations that have stars in the Winter Hexagon asterism. Because of its northern declination, Auriga is only visible in its entirety as far as 34° south; for observers farther south it lies partially or fully below the horizon. A large constellation, with an area of 657 square degrees, it is half the size of the largest constellation, Hydra.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!