Video encyclopedia

Auschwitz concentration camp

Educational buildings

Auschwitz concentration camp was a complex of 48 concentration and extermination camps built and operated by Nazi Germany in occupied Poland during World War II. It consisted of Auschwitz I, Auschwitz II–Birkenau, Auschwitz III–Monowitz, and dozens more subcamps.


  • History 

  • Command and control 

  • Life in the camps 

  • Selection and extermination process 

  • Escapes, resistance, and the Allies' knowledge of the camps 

  • Legacy