Video encyclopedia

Australian Antarctic Territory


Defence wants to put military tech in Antarctica despite Treaty ban | ABC News


Modernising Australia's Antarctic research stations


Australia Day 2019 - Antarctic style!


Australian Antarctic Program


Visit to Australian Antarctic Territory

The Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) is a part of Antarctica administered by the Australian Antarctic Division, an agency of the federal Department of the Environment and Energy. The territory's history dates to a claim on Enderby Land made by the United Kingdom in 1841, which was subsequently expanded and eventually transferred to Australia in 1933. It is the largest territory of Antarctica claimed by any nation by area. In 1961, the Antarctic Treaty came into force. Article 4 deals with territorial claims, and although it does not renounce or diminish any preexisting claims to sovereignty, it also does not prejudice the position of Contracting Parties in their recognition or non-recognition of territorial sovereignty. As a result, only four other countries; New Zealand, United Kingdom, France and Norway recognise Australia's claim to sovereignty in Antarctica.
    Explore contextually related video stories in a new eye-catching way. Try Combster now!