Video encyclopedia

Australian Securities Exchange

Business enterprises

The Australian Securities Exchange is Australia's primary securities exchange. It is owned by the Australian Securities Exchange Ltd, or ASX Limited, an Australian public company. Prior to December 2006 it was known as the Australian Stock Exchange, which was formed on 1 April 1987, incorporated under legislation of the Australian Parliament as an amalgamation of the six state securities exchanges. It merged with the Sydney Futures Exchange in 2006.


  • Overview 

  • History 

  • Trading systems 

  • Short selling 

  • Options 

  • Interest rate market 

  • Market indices 

  • Merger talks with SGX